How To Detangle Black Hair In 4 Steps!

During my original attempt at going natural, a certain issued consistently remained difficult for me…DETANGLING!!At that time way back in 2003, I had not idea of how to detangle by dry, coarse, 4c type natural hair coils.  My hair would break and shed and this led to me ultimately re-applying relaxer. That was one of the biggest mistakes of my life! If I knew THEN what I know NOW, I would have remained a naturaly curly chic and my hair would be down to my waist by now(no pun intended). Now, after being natural for 3 years(this second go round), I’ve learned a lot about detangling.Natural black hair is very fragile, contrary to popular belief. Most believe that natural hair is not prone to breakage because of its seemingly appearance of strength but coils and kinks are sensitive to breakage even more than other types! Because of this, those with natural hair need to be extremely gentle and cautious when detangling to prevent breakage. I’ve almost gotten it down to a fine science and my hair has definitely thanked me for it by growing and remaining healthy. If your experiencing problems with detangling your natural hair, I’ve put together a short list on how to detangle natural black hair in breeze,easily and conveniently!
1. Use Detangling Tools!

-Regardless of which tool you choose, make sure to pick one that is keen on helping detangle your hair. There are various one’s currently available including a your fingers, shower comb, ouidad double detangler, denman brush, tangle teaser and others. I prefer to use a shower comb to detangle my 4c hair after I’ve used my fingers to detangle, remove tangles and remove any knots that are present

2. Detangle In Small Sections!

-I usually part my hair into medium size sections before detangling. I will either twist, braid or use a hair clip to keep each section in place as I detangle.

3. Use Water & Detangling Agent!

-Some choose to use a conditioner designed specifically for detangling, regular(cheapie) conditioner or water/oil concoctions or mixtures. Since my hair is thick and coarse, I find that using a water-based conditioner like Suave Naturals or any cheapie conditioner works best for my hair. I usually detangle my hair only on wash days after I’ve washed my hair. After shampooing, while my hair is dripping wet, I apply cheapie conditioner, make sure my hair is saturated and began detangling.

4. Detangle From The Ends Up!

-This is where most people fall off. Because of time, frustration or lack of patience, we tend to want to bypass this necessary step. Regardless of hair type, detangling from the ends up to the root makes ANY detangling session so much easier. You see less hair breakage, less shed hairs and less matting. By doing this, you ensure that you are properly detangling your hair.

This entry was posted in Growth Retention, Hair, How-to's, Natural Hair, Natural Hair 101, Tips, Uncategorized and tagged , , by Beauty As Designed. Bookmark the permalink.

About Beauty As Designed

I am a Christian daughter of Yahweh, wife and mother of 4 of the most beautiful and awesome kids! I love the Lord Jesus and cherish each and every day He allows me to live and grow. I love taking care of my family, blogging, singing, writing and the word of God. This world is such an enormous place. I believe that just a little bit of laughter and light can transform our world into a place that brings glory to the Lord Most High. I enjoy finding out new ways to make my life and the lives of other women more efficient, economical and beautiful. I enjoy gaining godly wisdom in new area's. I love helping others to see the joy of all aspects of life and live the abundant life that Jesus came for them to life. I love ALL things natural...natural hair, healthy living & recipes, fitness, fashion and DIY projects and crafts. Learning to experience God's fullness in every area...spirit, soul and body, is my goal:)

Leave a Reply

