“Jazzy” Braid-Out On 4B/C How-To

I don’t do “braid-outs” and “twist-outs” on my hair often. Even more so, I hardly ever do wash-n-go’s either. I keep my hair in some form of protective style 80 percent of the time(trying to retain AS MUCH length as possible). But every now and then, I feel the need to “spread my wings” and wear my hair free! Its seems that the more coily the hair, the more limited we are in loose hair styling. Don’t get me wrong, natural hair is the most versatile and liberacious hair on the planet, but looser curl patterns tend to be more versatile when it comes to wearing loose styles. Fortunately, us coily chicks still have a few loose styles that we can wear and “rock” it! Braid Outs are definitely one.

This is a style that my hubby actually requested. I wore this a lot when I went natural the first time and it got me through a many “style absent minded” days.

How I achieved this style…

What I used:

My Shea Butter mixture(you can use any leave in conditioner, holding gel/cream, setting lotion, etc.)

Spray bottle filled with water and oil

Rat tail comb

Shower comb

Light oil

1. Begin on freshly washed, product free hair

2. Make sure to detangle(as best you can) making sure the ends are detangled(if you did not detangle while you were washing your hair, be sure to grab your detangling or show comb afterwards)

3. After you’ve washed/conditioned your hair and detangled, clip hair into 4-6 sections

4. Grab your rat tail/parting comb and spray bottle to begin parting the front in small sections in order to create your design pattern(use your spray bottle to “mist” your sectioned hair to prevent drying, for easier parting/handling).

As you can see here, my parting started to get, let’s just say “a little off”

5. Make sure to section the back portion and clip to prevent the portion left for the braid out, from getting tangled in with your reserved for cornrowing

6. Continue to part/cornrow the entire front and sides, making sure to braid as much as you can, leaving out a small portion to be later braided in with the back portion

7. After you’ve completed braided the front portion in the direction you desire, clip that away into it’s own section(you can either use a clip or ponytail holder).

8. Now, begin parting and sectioning the back. Use smaller sections for a more defined look and larger sections for a looser look.

9. Spray with your spray bottle, if its dry and grab your Shea Butter mixture, moisturizer or leave in conditioner(see above).

10. Braid your sectioned hair, making sure to braid as far down as you can but tightly “twisting the ends”. I prefer to twist my ends while doing a braid out, it helps make the taking down process easier.

11. After this process is completed, wrap hair with a satin scarf and allow hair to dry(I prefer to let my hair dry overnight because I HATE sitting under a hair dryer).

12. Once dry, grab a light oil, such as “grapeseed” or “coconut” and rub a little into the palms and on the tips of your finger to use while taking down your braids(this helps prevent over frizzing)

13. Gently “pull” each braid apart, making sure not to pull too much and loose the braid pattern. Continue to do this until you’ve received the look that your going for.

Some more photo’s of my final results…

Hopefully next time, I’ll have “less” frizzing!

This entry was posted in Hair, How-to's, Natural Hair, Styles, Styling, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , by Beauty As Designed. Bookmark the permalink.

About Beauty As Designed

I am a Christian daughter of Yahweh, wife and mother of 4 of the most beautiful and awesome kids! I love the Lord Jesus and cherish each and every day He allows me to live and grow. I love taking care of my family, blogging, singing, writing and the word of God. This world is such an enormous place. I believe that just a little bit of laughter and light can transform our world into a place that brings glory to the Lord Most High. I enjoy finding out new ways to make my life and the lives of other women more efficient, economical and beautiful. I enjoy gaining godly wisdom in new area's. I love helping others to see the joy of all aspects of life and live the abundant life that Jesus came for them to life. I love ALL things natural...natural hair, healthy living & recipes, fitness, fashion and DIY projects and crafts. Learning to experience God's fullness in every area...spirit, soul and body, is my goal:)

Leave a Reply

